Want to keep track of your habits? Here is an interesting app for you

In this newsletter we will review an app called HabitKit. It also interesting articles, tweets and motivation.

Good Morning, It’s your captain speaking. Welcome aboard the Developer’s Commute. Today we are reviewing an app and we have some interesting tweets, articles, and Coding Motivation to keep you moving We hope that you enjoy this ride with us and you have a pleasant journey ahead.

APP FACTS

HabitKit App Review

For today's app review, I have a habit tracker app that I have been using to track my Gym and coding habits. In this newsletter, I will try to give you an overview of why I like this habit-tracking app and what they can do to improve it. I will also try to code this app myself in the Android Core Concepts newsletter. For now, let's try to review what is good about this app.

I haven’t used habit tracker apps before because I felt that I did not require one. I am pretty disciplined that's why I keep up with my habits. But, when I joined my first job I realized that it is hard to keep track of everything. If you have a job or run a company, your mind will be occupied with your work. So it is hard to keep track of your habits. The easiest thing that you can do is to delicate it to someone. In this case, apps are a good method.

HabitKit has a wonderful way of representing your habit in the form of a graph. If you are a developer, you might have seen this type of graph in Git Hub. Since I am a developer, I liked this graph style of habit tracking. The graph keeps track of your habits in the form of days, which helps us to see the progress. Over time as you become good at your habit, it starts to become addictive.

The main problem that this app has is that it does not motivate you enough to practice your habit. You can set alarms and notifications that can be set as a reminder. But, motivation to push yourself to practice your habit is a key part of habit formation. If I want to motivate myself to code, I remind myself of the reason why I started coding. If the app can integrate notifications that remind the user of their reasons to start their habit. Then it will start to push them to practice the habit. We can also integrate simple emails or WhatsApp messages to motivate them.

Another part of the app that I liked was the widget feature of the app. You can see your habit graph on your home screen, which makes it addictive and fun to use. But this part of the app is in paid feature so you can pay a small amount to unlock it.

I think the paid features are worth it because they are cheap and make overall habit tracking easier. Also, you can make a one-time payment to unlock all the features for a lifetime. Most apps go for a recurring revenue so it makes this app unique.

Another factor that I would improve in this app would be if they can integrate some kind of content production in the app. Specifically, the user can write tweets like content and share them with the community of the app. I know integrating the social aspect to the app would be a lot of hassle for an indie developer. But, it can be an interesting aspect to add.

Also, If I can invite my friend to the app and compare my habits with him then it will make the app more interesting to use.

Overall, with the emojis, colours and graphs this app is a simple habit tracker that does its job. I like to use it because it is simple to use. You can also try this app and let me know what you think.

Well, this is it for today, I hope you enjoyed this newsletter. Thank you

If I have written something wrong. Please forgive me

Tweets That You Might Love

Exploring Interesting Tweets

Tweets That You Will Find Interesting


Here is an interesting tweet about Declarative UI →

Here is an interesting tweet about Web Server Realtime Updates →

Here is the basic foundation of Kotlin Multiplatform →

ArticlesThat You Might Love

Exploring Interesting Articles

Articles That You Will Find Interesting


Essentials for Android Developers.

Here is an interesting article that you might want to check out →

Do you want to know what are Kotlin Coroutines?

Here is an interesting article for you →

Do you want to master Dagger Hilt?

Here is an interesting article for you →

Developer Motivation

Learn by coding

Goodbye Fellow Developer

Over and Out Passenger. I hope you enjoyed this journey

I hope you enjoyed this Developer’s Commute. Thank you for joining me.

Your Captain- Hitesh Kohli